top of page
  • Bibiana Ossai

2023 IHLR Book Prize Semifinalists

We are delighted to announce the semifinalists of our Book Prize contest. Iron Horse Literary Review’s annual Book Prize is an invitation for writers to submit their collection of prose manuscripts, either short fiction or nonfiction. The Iron Horse Prize seeks stories from and about places and people that are often overlooked and underrepresented in contemporary letters. The IHLR First Book Prize is awarded annually to a first book of collected prose. The author of the winning entry will receive $1000, and their collection will be published in the summer of 2023 by Texas Tech University Press. This contest is sponsored by the Texas Tech University Press and Iron Horse Literary Review.

Congratulations to all our semifinalists!


Allegra Solomon, “To Be Known: Stories”

Allison Field Bell, “Bodies of Other Women”

Brian Schwartz, “The Halfway Wedding”

Clayton Bradshaw-Mittal, “Soft Goodbyes Through Broken Veils”

Gage Saylor, “When They Really Get to Know You, They Will Run”

Grant William Currier, “We Will Not Grieve: Stories”

James Sullivan, “Planet of the Ex Pats”

Joanna Kadish, “It’s Bad, Dude: A Collection of Essays & Short Stories”

Joseph Levens, “Critical Cartography and Other Stories”

Katherine Conner, “The Hanged Man: Stories”

Michael Orbach, “The Last Jews of Long Island”

Lauren Woods, “The Great Grownup Game of Make-Believe”

Lee Varon, “Hard Candy in the Disaster Zone”

Marianne Erhardt, “Lucky Bodies”

Mary Lotz, “Here and There: Stories”

M Horton, “Swimming Lessons: Stories”

Ren Cedar Fuller, “Bigger: A Collection of Essays”

Sean Stewart, “Plain Gods”

Steve Chang, “The Shattered World and Other Kaleidoscopes”

Thomas Mixon, “Bad Vibe”


bottom of page