leslie jill patterson  editor


Leslie Jill Patterson founded IHLR in 1999. Her prose has appeared recently in Texas Monthly, Gulf Coast, Baltimore Review, Colorado Review, Prime Number Magazine, under the gum tree, Sweet, Able Muse, and Bring the Noise: the best pop culture essays from Barrelhouse, among others. Her awards include two Kimmel-Harding Nelson residencies; a Texas Commission on the Arts fellowship; a 2012 Embrey Human Rights Fellowship; the 2013 Everett Southwest Literary Award (judged by Lee K. Abbott); a 2014 Soros Justice Fellowship, funded by the Open Society Foundations in New York; the 2017 Prime Number Magazine Prize for Fiction (judged by David Jauss); the 2017 Richard J. Margolis Award for Social Justice Writing; and a 2018 Pushcart Prize. Since 2009, she has also worked as the case storyteller for public defenders representing indigent men and women charged with capital murder and facing the death penalty in Texas.

katie cortese  assT editor | fiction editor


Katie Cortese’s fiction has earned prizes from River Styx, Silk Road, Narrative Magazine, and elsewhere. Other awards include a Kingsbury Fellowship, a Tennessee Williams scholarship to attend the Sewanee Writer’s Conference, and a month-long residency at the Arte Studio Ginestrelle in Assisi, Italy. Her collection of flash fiction, Girl Power and Other Short-Short Stories (ELJ Publications), was released in the fall of 2015, and her collection of short fiction, Make Way for Her: And Other Stories, was published by University Press of Kentucky in February 2018. Additionally, her work recently appeared in Gulf Coast, Third Coast, Carve Magazine, Passages North, and BOOTH, among other journals. From 2010-2013, she served as the editor-in-chief of The Southeast Review.

geffrey davis  poetry editor


Geffrey Davis is the author of Night Angler (BOA), recent winner of the 2018 James Laughlin Award. His first collection, Revising the Storm ​(BOA, 2014), won the A. Poulin Jr. Poetry Prize and was a Hurston/Wright Legacy Award Finalist. Davis’s honors include the Anne Halley Poetry Prize, the Dogwood Prize in Poetry, the Wabash Prize for Poetry, an Academy of American Poets Prize, and fellowships from the Cave Canem Foundation, the Vermont Studio Center, the NEA, and The Whiting Foundation. He has recent work published in ​The Massachusetts ReviewNew England Review, ​The New York Times MagazinePBS NewsHour, and Ploughshares. Davis is currently a faculty member in the MFA program at the University of Arkansas, and in the summer of 2018, he joined the low-res MFA faculty at The Rainier Writing Workshop at Pacific Lutheran University.

elena passarello  nonfiction editor


Elena Passarello is an actor, a writer, and the recipient of a 2015 Whiting Award. Her essays on performance, pop culture, and the natural world have been published in Oxford AmericanSlateCreative Nonfiction, and The Iowa Review, among other publications, as well as in the 2015 anthologies Cat is Art Spelled Wrong and After Montaigne. Her first essay collection, Let Me Clear My Throat (Sarabande), won the gold medal for nonfiction at the 2013 Independent Publisher Awards and was a finalist for the 2014 Oregon Book Award. Sarabande will publish her second collection, Animals Strike Curious Poses, in February 2017. Passarello is a faculty member in the MFA program at Oregon State University.

jennifer popa managing editor


Jennifer Popa is a short-story writer, essayist, and occasional poet. A few years ago she relocated from the interior of Alaska where she did her MFA to the South Plains of West Texas where she is now a PhD candidate of English and Creative Writing at Texas Tech University. She’s currently working on a collection of short stories and teaching creative writing and literature to a bright group of Texas undergrads. Some of Jennifer's most recent writing can be found at KestreI, Pithead Chapel, Juked, decomP, and Colorado Review 

meghan e. giles  managing editor

 Meghan E. Giles  is a Ph.D. student at Texas Tech. Her poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Cimarron Review, Hayden's Ferry Review Online, South Dakota Review, Measure: A Review of Formal Poetry, and elsewhere. 


jennifer buentello  managing editor

Jennifer Buentello is a writer, teacher, and translator. She serves as managing editor of Iron Horse Literary Review. Her stories, essays, and translations have appeared in Denver Quarterly, Texas Review, Los Angeles Review, Newfound, and elsewhere. Jennifer currently pursues her PhD at Texas Tech University.

valerie wayson managing editor


Valerie Wayson is a writer and teacher who's taught in Madagascar, Iraqi Kurdistan, and Texas. She holds an MFA from Georgia College and is pursuing a PhD at Texas Tech University.

associate editors: Matthew Porto, Kate Simonian, Nathaniel Brown, Jasmine Bailey Epstein, Jesse Lawhead, Brook McClurg, Catherine Ragsdale, Claudia Diaz, D. Patterson, Emma Brousseau, Jacob Hall, Kaytee Jackson, Maeve Kirk, Peter Vertacnik, Sara Ryan.