top of page
  • Leslie Jill Patterson

2022 NaPoMo Winner!

Geffrey Davis, author of Night Angler and Revising the Storm, and winner of the A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize as well as fellowships from the NEA and the Whiting Foundation, has selected Bryana Joy's poem, "Summer of the Oystercatchers," as the 2022 IHLR NaPoMo winner!

All of us at IHLR loved the language and sharp imagery in this poem, how the words and details mingle so well with the speaker's internal concerns. We were dwelling on "Summer of the Oystercatchers" long after we read it for the first time. And so we're pleased to name it the winner and look forward to sharing it with our readers.

Bryana Joy is a writer, poet, and painter who works full-time sending illustrated snail mail letters all over the world as part of her project The Letters from the Sea Tower. Her poetry has appeared in over three dozen literary journals and is forthcoming in Delmarva Review, DIALOGIST, Sand Journal, and others. She has lived in Turkey, East Texas, and England, and currently resides in the Lehigh Valley in Eastern Pennsylvania. She will receive $1,000 for her winning poem!

Congratulations to Bryana Joy--

--and to all our other finalists who will also appear in the NaPoMo issue in April: Carrie Beyer, Samantha DeFlitch, Cristina Medina, Daniel Edward Moore, Claudia Putnam, Heidi Seaborn, Christopher Shipman, and Anne-Marie Thompson.


bottom of page